Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.
Homes for sale Belleair FL
Homes for sale Belleair FL. The Town of Belleair, which can trace its origins back to the 1890s, maintains a Historic Registry of homes and currently boasts more than 30 protected properties and structures. The Town’s Historic Preservation Board oversees this registry and all preservation efforts in Belleair.
Belleair is a busy, growing community with a unique sense of civic pride. Part of Belleair’s uncommon personality lies in its brief but colorful history. In the next few paragraphs, you’ll discover the Belleair you live in has changed greatly in its short lifetime. As a community, Belleair started out at the end of the line – but what a line!
In the 1890’s, railroad magnate Henry B. Plant constructed his showpiece hotel on a high bluff south of Clearwater, complete with a railroad siding for the private cars of his wealthy winter patrons.
The Belleview Hotel had its grand opening in January of 1897. Its location was on a peninsula west of Tampa Bay which was to become Pinellas County in 1912. Guests at the Belleview enjoyed the amenities of regal, rustic living; yachting on Clearwater Bay, horseback riding in the piney woods south of the hotel; golfing, tennis, skeet shooting, and bicycling.
The Belleview’s original nine-hole golf course with sand greens had grown to two, 18-hole courses with Florida’s first grass greens by World War I. In 1920, the hotel was purchased from the Plant Investment Company by John McEntee Bowman, international sportsman and owner of the Biltmore chain of hotels. Hence the beginning of the new name Belleview Biltmore Hotel.
Directly to the north of the hotel, a casino added zest to the life of the snowbirds and hotel guests, operating until the mid 1940s.
The good life at the seasonal Belleview Biltmore naturally led to the desire among some guests to live in this pleasant place year-round. Some of Belleair’s first homes were constructed on North Indian Rocks Road, overlooking the Belleview’s golf course, and still stand today.
This neighborhood developed and gradually moved south, resisting annexation moves by the City of Clearwater. In 1925, the Town of Belleair was incorporated and the noted town planner, John Nolen, was hired to lay out the streets that constitute most of Belleair today.
The grandiose plans of the early residents crashed with the stock market in 1929 and the end of the Florida Land Boom. In the early 1930’s, the town defaulted on more than $1 million of improvement bonds and the beautiful streets behind the bluff on the bay were rapidly reclaimed by weeds and undergrowth.
The 1950’s saw the rebirth of the Town with new construction bringing the population to approximately 2,200 by 1955. Young, postwar professionals discovered the community and civic leaders established strong recreation programs, the sewage system, an expanded water system and the present Town Hall building.
The next large growth in the town took place in the late 1960’s to early 1970’s when U.S. Steel purchased the land in front of the Hotel and the Island to the west of the hotel. A large community of condominiums was constructed and resulted in boosting the town’s population to approximately 4,000.
Fortunately, far-sighted residents and officials had set aside land for the town’s beautiful system of parks and paths, while elected officials created a strong set of codes to enhance and preserve the quality way of life we enjoy today.
Information provided by: https://www.townofbelleair.com/191/History-of-Belleair